Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_REFERER in /home/exprxfcy/ on line 43
yoga chakras

Yogi’s Guide to the Seven Yoga Chakras

Do you know there is a subtle body in your being which is responsible for the flow of energy in your entire body? Yes! Your body comprises of what are known in the Sanskrit language as Chakras or the energy centers that unite the mind, body, and spirit.

There are a total of seven chakras or energy centers in your body. These start from the top of your head and go straight down to the bottom of your spine. Yoga gurus have come up with a small guide to explain all these chakras in details.

The Seven Yoga Chakras

Given below are the seven yoga chakras. Pay attention as all of these have an effect on your mental and physical well-being.

1. Root Chakra

Known as the Muladhara chakra, the root chakra represents your foundation. On the physical level, it is located at the base of your spine and helps you remain grounded. When this chakra is open, you feel confident to face challenges and stand on your feet.

This chakra is responsible for your survival including financial independence, money, and food. An imbalance of this chakra makes you feel threatened as if standing on an unstable ground.

2. Sacral Chakra

Sacral chakra, also known as Swadhisthana helps you relate to your emotions and those of others. This controls your creativity and sexual energy. In case this chakra is blocked you feel a loss of control in your life.

The Sacral Chakra is responsible for providing you with a sense of abundance, pleasure, and sexuality. You should enroll in the Yoga Alliance certification to learn more about this yoga chakra.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Known as the Manipura Chakra, the solar plexus chakra controls your ability to feel confident and in control of your life. However, any blockage within this third chakra results in overwhelming amount of shame and self-doubt. This chakra controls your level of self-confidence, and self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra

Known as the Anahata chakra, this is the bridge between the lower chakras and upper chakras. It controls your ability to give and receive love from others and ourselves. Unfortunately, any blockage with this chakra can make it difficult for you to open up to people in life. This chakra is responsible for controlling feelings of love, joy, and inner peace. You can also enroll in the 500 hour yoga teacher training in India to learn about this chakra.

5. Throat Chakra

Throat chakra, also known as Vishuddha chakra gives a voice to the heart chakra and controls your ability to communicate personal power. However, any blockage with this chakra leads to having trouble in finding the right words for how you feel. The Throat Chakra controls your power of communication and self-expression.

6. Third-Eye Chakra

The third-eye chakra is responsible for helping you get closer to the divine. It helps you see the bigger picture and connect to intuition. You can think of this chakra as eyes of the soul which registers all information beyond the physical level.

If you unlock the third-eye chakra then you start to experience visions and a higher intuition. Also, this chakra is responsible for intuition, imagination, and wisdom of your true self. Enrolling in the 500 hour yoga teacher training in India can help you learn the techniques to unlock this chakra.

7. Crown Chakra

The Sahasrara chakra, also known as the crown chakra is located at the top of your head. It helps you connect fully to the divine being. Also, the unlocking of this yoga chakra helps you connect with the higher consciousness. This chakra also controls your inner and outer beauty, and spiritual connection.

There it is! The yoga guide to help you understand all the seven chakras and their contribution to helping you evolve on a spiritual level.


Do you want to unleash your true mental and physical potential? You should enroll in the certified 500 hour yoga teacher training in India to learn all about these seven chakras. These would help you enjoy good mental, physical, and emotional health. In the long run, you can expect to live a life devoid of any unnecessary stress and focus intently on the positive side of everything.

Also Read: Vinyasa Yoga Exercises