Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_REFERER in /home/exprxfcy/ on line 43
yoga for stress relief

How to Practice Detachment & Its 5 Stages

The great Indian mystic Ram Dass famously exclaims that detachment leads to freedom. Moreover, he says that attachments lead to sufferings in life. So, if you wish to live a peaceful and worry-free life, you should practice detachment.

With that said, here’s how you can practice detachment. Also, don’t forget to check out the five stages of detachment that lead to complete freedom. But before that, knowing what detachment is could be beneficial. Read on.

What is Detachment?

As mentioned in The Bhagavad Gita, detachment has nothing to do with external things. It does not teach denouncing worldly pleasures, enjoyment, family affairs, political affairs, or anything else.

What detachment means is to not cling to a single event in life. When you practice detachment, you learn to let go of things rather than attach to them.

Without engagement with family, friends, or social pursuits, your soul wouldn’t stay lightened up for long. It will lose its charm. So, detach yourself from anger, pride, ego, or hardness of heart.

Ways to Practice Detachment

The real question that The Bhagavad Gita puts in front of practitioners is to discover the answers themselves. Detachment is not a one-time process. Rather, it is a bit by bit won the fight against your ego or mind.

To practice detachment is to accept reality every day without feeling negative or positive emotions. Moreover, practicing detachment does not mean giving up everything you have.

Instead, it teaches you to create a perfect balance in your life about the things you wish you had, things you had no control over, and things happening behind your back. The way you deal and respond is what detachment is all about.

5 Stages of Detachment


The first step to practicing detachment is to acknowledge whether there is any strong attachment or not. Once you know there is one, you work towards understanding how you feel about it.

Observing these feelings could stick to you and won’t leave. You might feel excited or anxious when you think about things you have been attached to for a long.

Do not worry about the loss or gain you are going to have. Instead of feeling hopeless, you should let the feelings overlap you so that you can be still in your mind.


Acknowledging the feelings is the first step towards detachment. Once you have done that, you need to do a self-inquiry. Ask yourself questions about how you feel about it, how it makes you feel, and how its loss will affect you.

However, before practicing this step, you should get in touch with your inner self. For that, practicing meditation or yoga for stress relief could be a better option.

Once your mind is calm and settled, you get the answers to the questions you ask yourself. Explore how each feeling energizes you. Discover a way that allows you to observe and be a part of them.


When you enter the third stage, you become aware of each step you took has turned out and helped you. The moment you realize that you have gained something from a particular situation, you are in the third stage of detachment.

Rather than feeling hopeless, you should be thankful for how much have you learned from a particular thing. It will help you out in the near or distant future. So, process everything with sheer awareness.


When you lose the desire to work, you do not move further in life. Rather, you are stuck at a single point in your life. At this point, taking creative action is going to benefit you a lot.

Rather than losing hope, find another reason to move through a bad or unfavorable situation. Acting for a reason cancels out the feeling of fear or losing out.


The awareness that losing something is not going to interfere with the usual working of your life means liberation. At this stage, you put down the heavy burden of feelings or emotions that are not serving you.

Practicing detachment gives you the freedom that flushes out negativity from your life.

Wrap Up

When you practice detachment, the above five stages come in your way. However, some reach the final stage early whereas some take time. All you have to remember is to be patient and let go of things to live a happy life.

Read More:- Yoga For Stress Reduction